SPH Journalists Shine At Sias Awards (ST)

BackOct 06, 2010

BLUE chip firms and business journalists from Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) are among the big winners at this year's Investors' Choice Awards.

The annual event, organised by the Securities Investors Association of Singapore (Sias), was part of the inaugural Singapore Corporate Governance Week 2010.

Ms Teo Swee Lian, the Monetary Authority of Singapore's deputy managing director for financial supervision, represented Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua as guest of honour.

Mrs Lim was in Brussels to speak at the Asia-Europe Business Forum yesterday on behalf of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, who returned to Singapore following the death of his mother, Mrs Lee Kuan Yew.

The awards, held at the Raffles City Convention Centre last night, saw a total of 57 Singapore-based firms recognised for leading the way in corporate governance practices and shareholder communication.

Sias president and chief executive David Gerald said: 'It is our aim to encourage more companies to embrace good corporate governance practices and to commit to working towards a higher standard.'

Telecommunications giant SingTel took home the top honours in the Singapore Corporate Governance Award category for mainboard-listed firms.

SPH, which owns The Straits Times, was named the most transparent company in the non-electronics manufacturing category - its ninth win and the seventh consecutive year that the media group has clinched the award.

SPH chief executive Alan Chan said: 'Transparency and good corporate governance are the group's guiding principles in addressing our stakeholders.

'We are constantly engaging and providing them with concise and comprehensive information in a timely manner to meet their investment needs.'

Five journalists - four of whom are from SPH's stable of newspapers - were also honoured in the Financial Journalist of the Year Award segment.

The Business Times' (BT) Jamie Lee was named Financial Journalist of the Year, while her colleagues, BT senior correspondent Michelle Quah and BT Executive Money editor Genevieve Cua, won Financial Story of the Year and Investor Education Journalist Award, respectively.

The Most Promising Journalist Award went to Ms Christine Li Minwen, a business correspondent with SPH's Chinese daily Lianhe Zaobao.

Mr Chan added: 'I would like to congratulate our journalists for winning the majority of the financial journalism awards. It reflects the high editorial standards of our SPH newspapers.'

Former BT veteran and now editor-at- large of the free newspaper Today, Mr Conrad Raj, was honoured with a Special Award for his scoop about a local businessman who lost $26 million at the Resorts World Sentosa casino.